OSA's Digital Library

Chinese Optics Letters

Chinese Optics Letters


  • Vol. 10, Iss. 1 — Jan. 10, 2012
  • pp: 010602–

Automatic polarization compensation method for low-repetition frequency short optical pulse

Peng Zhang, Xuechun Li, Youen Jiang, and Guoyang Li  »View Author Affiliations

Chinese Optics Letters, Vol. 10, Issue 1, pp. 010602- (2012)

View Full Text Article

Acrobat PDF (448 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools

  • Export Citation/Save Click for help


An automatic polarization compensation method for low-repetition frequency short optical pulse is proposed and successfully applied to the master oscillator room (MOR) in inertial confinement fusion (ICF) systems to maintain the MOR maximum output energy. After an average of 37 shots, the MOR output energy reaches maximum value with the sudden occurrence of polarization variation in the fibers. The peak-to-peak amplitude jitter of the MOR output is 9.52% at 4 h, which meets the requirement of the ICF system.

© 2012 Chinese Optics Letters

OCIS Codes
(060.2420) Fiber optics and optical communications : Fibers, polarization-maintaining
(060.2430) Fiber optics and optical communications : Fibers, single-mode
(250.3140) Optoelectronics : Integrated optoelectronic circuits

Peng Zhang, Xuechun Li, Youen Jiang, and Guoyang Li, "Automatic polarization compensation method for low-repetition frequency short optical pulse," Chin. Opt. Lett. 10, 010602- (2012)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset


  1. F. Tian, L. Xi, X. Zhang, X. Weng, G. Zhang, and Q. Xiong, Chin. Opt. Lett. 8, 816 (2010).
  2. M. O. van Deventer and A. J. Boot, J. Lightwave Technol. 12, 585 (1994).
  3. S. Huang, J. Lightwave Technol. 27, 4040 (2009).
  4. N. S. Shahabuddin, Z. Yusofi, H. Ahmad, and S. W. Harun, Chin. Opt. Lett. 9, 061407 (2011).
  5. C. A. Haynam, P. J. Wegner, J. M. Auerbach, M. W. Bowers, S. N. Dixit, G. V. Erbert, G. M. Heestand, M. A. Henesian, M. R. Hermann, K. S. Jancaitis, K. R. Manes, C. D. Marshall, N. C. Mehta, J. Menapace, E. Moses, J. R. Murray, M. C. Nostrand, C. D. Orth, R. Patterson, R. A. Sacks, M. J. Shaw, M. Spaeth, S. B. Sutton, W. H. Williams, C. C. Widmayer, R. K. White, S. T. Yang, and B. M. VanWonterghem, Appl. Opt. 46, 3276 (2007).
  6. R. No'e, H. Heidrich, and D. Hofimann, J. Lightwave Technol. 6, 1199 (1988).
  7. H. Shimizu, S. Yamazaki, T. Ono, and K. Emura, J. Lightwave Technol. 9, 1217 (1991).
  8. W. Li, X. Zhang, B. You, and K. Y. Zou, in Proceedings of the Knowledge Acquisition and Modeling 275 (2008).
  9. Y. Shi, L. Yan, and X. S. Yao, J. Lightwave Technol. 24, 4006 (2006).
  10. B. Koch, A. Hidayat, H. Zhang, V. Mirvoda, M. Lichtinger, D. Sandel, and R. No'e, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 20, 961 (2008).
  11. R. B. Wilcox, W. Behrendt, D. F. Browning, D. R. Speck, and B. M. Van Wonterghem, Proc. SPIE 1870, 53 (1993).
  12. J. K. Crane, R. B. Wilcox, N. W. Elopps, D. Browning, M. D. Martinez, B. Moran, F. Penko, J. E. Rothenber, M. Henesian, C. B. Dane, and L. A. Hackel, Proc. SPIE 3492, 100 (1999).
  13. P. J. Wisofi, M. W. Bowers, G. V. Erbert, D. F. Browning, and D. R Jedlovec, Proc. SPIE 5341, 146 (2004).
  14. M. D. Martinez, K. M. Skulina, F. J. Deadrick, J. K. Crane, B. Moran, J. Braucht, B. Jones, S. Hawkins, R. Tilley, J. Crawford, D. Browning, and F. Penko, Proc. SPIE 3611, 169 (1999).
  15. OZ Optics, "Electrically Driven Polarization Controller-Scrambler", http://www.ozoptics.com/ALLNew PDF/DTS0011.pdf.

Cited By

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited