OSA's Digital Library

Chinese Optics Letters

Chinese Optics Letters


  • Vol. 7, Iss. 1 — Jan. 1, 2009
  • pp: 36–38

Transferring the stability of iodine-stabilized diode laser at 634 nm to radio frequency by an optical frequency comb

Lin Yi, Xianghui Qi, Wenlan Chen, Dawei Zhou, Tong Zhou, Xiaoji Zhou, and Xuzong Chen  »View Author Affiliations

Chinese Optics Letters, Vol. 7, Issue 1, pp. 36-38 (2009)

View Full Text Article

Acrobat PDF (1315 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools

  • Export Citation/Save Click for help


An optical frequency comb phase-locked on an iodine frequency stabilized diode laser at 634 nm is constructed to transfer the accuracy and stability from the optical domain to the radio frequency domain. An external-cavity diode laser is frequency-stabilized on the Doppler-free absorption signals of the hyperfine transition R(80)8-4 using the third-harmonic detection technique. The instability of the ultra-stable optical oscillator is determined to be 7\times10^{-12} by a cesium atomic clock via the optical frequency comb's mass frequency dividing technique.

© 2009 Chinese Optics Letters

OCIS Codes
(120.0120) Instrumentation, measurement, and metrology : Instrumentation, measurement, and metrology
(300.0300) Spectroscopy : Spectroscopy

Lin Yi, Xianghui Qi, Wenlan Chen, Dawei Zhou, Tong Zhou, Xiaoji Zhou, and Xuzong Chen, "Transferring the stability of iodine-stabilized diode laser at 634 nm to radio frequency by an optical frequency comb," Chin. Opt. Lett. 7, 36-38 (2009)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset


  1. Th. Udem, S. A. Diddams, K. R. Vogel, C. W. Oates, E. A. Curtis, W. D. Lee, W. M. Itano, R. E. Drullinger, J. C. Bergquist, and L. Hollberg, Phys. Rev. Lett. 86, 4996 (2001).
  2. J. Stenger, C. Tamm, N. Haverkamp, S. Weyers, and H. R. Telle, Opt. Lett. 26, 1589 (2001).
  3. J. Helmcke, G. Wilpers, T. Binnewies, C. Degenhardt, U. Sterr, H. Schnatz, and F. Riehle, IEEE Trans. Instrum. Meas. 52, 250 (2003).
  4. S. A. Diddams, Th. Udem, J. C. Bergquist, E. A. Curtis, R. E. Drullinger, L. Hollberg, W. M. Itano, W. D. Lee, C. W. Oates, K. R. Vogel, and D. J. Wineland, Science 293, 825 (2001).
  5. H. Marion, F. P. Dos Santos, M. Abgrall, S. Zhang, Y. Sortais, S. Bize, I. Maksimovic, D. Calonico, J. Grünert, C. Mandache, P. Lemonde, G. Santarelli, Ph. Laurent, A. Clairon, and C. Salomon, Phys. Rev. Lett. 90, 150801 (2003).
  6. S. Bize, S. A. Diddams, U. Tanaka, C. E. Tanner, W. H. Oskay, R. E. Drullinger, T. E. Parker, T. P. Heavner, S. R. Jefferts, L. Hollberg, W. M. Itano, and J. C. Bergquist, Phys. Rev. Lett. 90, 150802 (2003).
  7. M. Fischer, N. Kolachevsky, M. Zimmermann, R. Holzwarth, Th. Udem, T. W. Hansch, M. Abgrall, J. Grünert, I. Maksimovic, S. Bize, H. Marion, F. P. Dos Santos, P. Lemonde, G. Santarelli, P. Laurent, A. Clairon, C. Salomon, M. Haas, U. D. Jentschura, and C. H. Keitel, Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 230802 (2004).
  8. E. Peik, B. Lipphardt, H. Schnatz, T. Schneider, Chr. Tamm, and S. G. Karshenboim, Phys. Rev. Lett. 93, 170801 (2004).
  9. R. W. Fox, S. A. Diddams, A. Bartels, and L. Hollberg, Appl. Opt. 44, 113 (2005).
  10. P. Balling and P. Kren, Eur. Phys. J. D 48, 3 (2007).
  11. R. P. Smith, P. A. Roos, J. K. Wahlstrand, J. A. Pipis, M. B. Rivas, and S. T. Cundiff, J. Res. Natl. Inst. Stand. Technol. 112, 289 (2007).
  12. A. Zarka, A. Abou-Zeid, D. Chagniot, J.-M. Chartier, O. Cíp, J.-F. Cliche, C. S. Edwards, F. Imkenberg, P. Jedlicka, B. Kabel, A. Lassila, J. Lazar, M. Merimaa, Y. Millerioux, H. Simonsen, M. Têtu, and J.-P. Wallerand, Metrologia 37, 329 (2000).
  13. H. Schnatz, B. Lipphardt, J. Helmcke, F. Riehle, and G. Zinner, Phys. Rev. Lett. 76, 18 (1996).
  14. W. Demtroder, Laser Spectroscopy: Basic Concepts and Instrumentation (Springer-Verlag, Berlin, 1981).
  15. A. D. Ludlow, T. Zelevinsky, G. K. Campbell, S. Blatt, M. M. Boyd, M. H. G. de Miranda, M. J. Martin, J. W. Thomsen, S. M. Foreman, J. Ye, T. M. Fortier, J. E. Stalnaker, S. A. Diddams, Y. Le Coq, Z. W. Barber, N. Poli, N. D. Lemke, K. M. Beck, and C. W. Oates, Science 319, 1805 (2008).
  16. X. Chen, K. Zhang, E. Zang, Y. Akimoto, T. Kasahara, K. Sakamoto, and H. Inaba, Proc. SPIE 3547, 194 (1998).
  17. D. W. Allan, Proc. IEEE 54, 221 (1966).

Cited By

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited