OSA's Digital Library

Chinese Optics Letters

Chinese Optics Letters


  • Vol. 8, Iss. 9 — Sep. 1, 2010
  • pp: 863–870

Digital signal processing for coherent multi-level modulation formats (Invited Paper)

Xiang Zhou  »View Author Affiliations

Chinese Optics Letters, Vol. 8, Issue 9, pp. 863-870 (2010)

View Full Text Article

Acrobat PDF (509 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools

  • Export Citation/Save Click for help


This paper presents a review on the recent progress of digital signal processing (DSP) in the high-speed optical transmission system using single-carrier based multi-level modulation formats. The principle of several digital phase and polarization tracking algorithms recently proposed and demonstrated for future spectrally-efficient optical transmission system are discussed in detail. A novel DSP-based interference mitigation algorithm for the single-ended coherent receiver has been included. Recent technology advance on transmitter-side DSP such as digital pulse-shaping, pre-equalization and digital nonlinear compensation has also been discussed.

© 2010 Chinese Optics Letters

OCIS Codes
(030.0030) Coherence and statistical optics : Coherence and statistical optics
(060.0060) Fiber optics and optical communications : Fiber optics and optical communications

Xiang Zhou, "Digital signal processing for coherent multi-level modulation formats (Invited Paper)," Chin. Opt. Lett. 8, 863-870 (2010)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset


  1. M. Birk, X. Zhou, M. Boroditsky, S. H. Foo, D. Bownass, M. Moyer, and M. O'Sullivan, in Proc. ECOC'06 Th2.5.6 (2006).
  2. C. R. S. Fludger, J. E. A. Whiteaway, and P. J. Anslow, in Proc. OFC'04 WM7 (2004).
  3. M. G. Taylor, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 16, 674(2004).
  4. R. Noe, J. Lightwave Technol. 23, 802 (2005).
  5. Y. Han and G. Li, Opt. Express 13, 7527 (2005).
  6. R. Noe, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 17, 887 (2005).
  7. S. J. Savory, Opt. Express 16, 804 (2008).
  8. X. Zhou, J. Yu, D. Qian, T. Wang, G. Zhang, and P. Magil, J. Lightwave Technol. 27, 146 (2009).
  9. X. Zhou and J. Yu, J. Lightwave Technol. 27, 3641(2009).
  10. X. Zhou, J. Yu, M. Huang, Y. Shao, T. Wang, P. D. Magill, M. Cvijetic, L. Nelson, M. Birk, G. Zhang, S. Ten, H. B. Matthew, and S. K. Mishra, J. Lightwave Technol. 28, 456 (2010).
  11. P. J. Winzer, A. H. Gnauck, C. R. Doerr, M. Magarini, and L. L. Buhl, J. Lightwave Technol. 28, 547 (2010).
  12. X. Zhou, J. Yu, M. F. Huang, Y. Shao, T. Wang, L. Nelson, P. D. Magill, M. Birk, P. I. Borel, D. W. Peckham, and R. Lingle, in Proc. OFC'10 PDPB9 (2010).
  13. A. Sano, H. Masuda, T. Kobayashi, M. Fujiwara, K. Horikoshi, E. Yoshida, Y. Miyamoto, M. Matsui, M. Mizoguchi, H. Yamazaki, Y. Sakamaki, and H. Ishii, in Proc. OFC 2010 PDPB7 (2010).
  14. I. Fatadin, S. J. Savory, and D. Ives, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 20, 1733 (2008).
  15. K. Roberts, C. Li, L. Strawczynski, M. O'Sullivan, and I. Hardcastle, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 18, 403(2006).
  16. X. Li, X. Chen, G. Goldfarb, E. F. Mateo, I. Kim, F. Yaman, and G. Li, Opt. Express 16, 881 (2008).
  17. E. Ip and J. M. Kahn, J. Lightwave Technol. 26, 3416(2008).
  18. Y. Cai, D. G. Foursa, C. R. Davidson, J.-X. Cai, O. Sinkin, M. Nissov, and A. Pilipetskii, in Proc. OFC 2010 OTuE1 (2010).
  19. M. Yoshida, H. Goto, K. Kasai, and M. Nakazawa, Opt. Express 16, 829 (2008).
  20. C. R. S. Fludger, T. Duthel, D. Van Den Borne, C. Schulien, E.-D. Schmidt, T. Wuth, E. De Man, G. D. Khoe, and H. De Waardt, in Proc. OFC 2007 PDP-22(2007).
  21. M. Kuschnerov, F. N. Hauske, K. Piyawanno, B. Spinnler, M. S. Alfiad, A. Napoli, and B. Lankl, J. Lightwave Technol. 27, 3614 (2009).
  22. D. N. Godard, IEEE Trans. Commun. 28, 1867 (1980).
  23. X. Zhou, J. Yu, and P. D. Magill, in Proc. OFC 2009 OWG3 (2009).
  24. M. J. Ready and R. P. Gooch, in Proc. ICASSP'90 D11. 16 (1990).
  25. H. Louchet, K. Kuzmin, and A. Richter, in Proc. ECOC 2008 Tu.1.E.6 (2008).
  26. I. Fatadin, D. Ives, and S. J. Savory, J. Lightwave Technol. 27, 3042 (2009).
  27. A. Spalvieri and R. Valtolina, "Data-aided and phaseindependent adaptive equalization for data transmission systems" European Patent Application EP 1 089 457 A2 (2000).
  28. P. Comon, Signal Processing 36, 287 (1994).
  29. A. Hyv¨arinen and E. Oja, Neural Networks 13, 411(2000).
  30. X. B. Xie, F. Yaman, X. Zhou, and G. Li, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 22, 805 (2010).
  31. A. J. Viterbi and A. M. Viterbi, IEEE Trans. Inf. Theory 29, 543 (1983).
  32. R. Peveling, T. Pfau, O. Aamczyk, R. Eickhoff, and R. No'e, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 21, 137 (2009).
  33. M. Seimetz, in Proc. OFC/NFOEC 2008 OTuM2 (2008).
  34. T. Pfau, S. Hoffmann, and R. No'e, J. Lightwave Technol. 27, 989 (2009).
  35. X. Zhou, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 22, 1051 (2010).
  36. J. G. Proakis, Digital Communications (4th edn.) (McGraw-Hill, New York, 2000) chap. 6, p. 348.
  37. B. Ch?atelain, Y. Jiang, K. Roberts, X. Xu, J. C. Cartledge, and D. V. Plant, in Proc. OFC 2010 OTuE6(2010).
  38. E. F. Mateo, X. Zhou, and G. Li, "Selective postcompensation of nonlinear impairments in polarizationdivision multiplexed WDM systems with different channel granularities" submitted to IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron.

Cited By

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited