OSA's Digital Library

Chinese Optics Letters

Chinese Optics Letters


  • Vol. 8, Iss. 9 — Sep. 1, 2010
  • pp: 881–883

Non-feedback precoder for optical DQPSK modulation

Lumin Zhang, Yi Dong, Zhaohui Li, Hao He, and Weisheng Hu  »View Author Affiliations

Chinese Optics Letters, Vol. 8, Issue 9, pp. 881-883 (2010)

View Full Text Article

Acrobat PDF (261 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools

  • Export Citation/Save Click for help


A novel non-feedback precoder circuit for high-speed parallel optical differential quadrature phase shift keying (DQPSK) modulation is proposed. The alternative control signal is introduced in replacement of the conventional feedback one, which eliminates the speed limitation due to the electronic propagation delay. The proposed precoder consists of four differential encoders, an exclusive OR gate, a cross switch, and delay lines. It is demonstrated by a true pseudo random bit sequence (PRBS) transmission at 20 Gb/s.

© 2010 Chinese Optics Letters

OCIS Codes
(060.2330) Fiber optics and optical communications : Fiber optics communications
(060.5060) Fiber optics and optical communications : Phase modulation

Lumin Zhang, Yi Dong, Zhaohui Li, Hao He, and Weisheng Hu, "Non-feedback precoder for optical DQPSK modulation," Chin. Opt. Lett. 8, 881-883 (2010)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset


  1. P. J. Winzer, G. Raybon, S. Haoyu, A. Adamiecki, S. Corteselli, A. H. Gnauck, D. A. Fishman, C. R. Doerr, S. Chandrasekhar, L. L. Buhl, T. J. Xia, G. Wellbrock, W. Lee, B. Basch, T. Kawanishi, K. Higuma, and Y. Painchaud, J. Lightwave Technol. 26, 3388 (2008).
  2. P. Winzer and G. Raybon, in Proceedings of IEEE/LEOS Summer Topical Meetings MA2.2. (2007).
  3. R. A. Griffin and A. C. Carter, in Proceedings of OFC 2002 WX6 (2002).
  4. J. Gao, Q. Chang, T. Wang, and Y. Su, Chin. Opt. Lett. 6, 550 (2008).
  5. J. He, L. Chen, and S. Wen, Chin. Opt. Lett. 7, 15(2009).
  6. H. Song, A. Adamiecki, P. Winzer, C. Woodworth, S. Corteselli, and G. Raybon, in Proceedings of OFC 2008 OTuG3 (2008).
  7. Y. Konishi, K. Ishida, K. Kubo, and T. Mizuochi, in Proceeding of OFC 2006 OThR3 (2006).
  8. M. Serbay, C. Wree, and W. Rosenkranz, Electron. Lett. 40, 1288 (2004).
  9. M. Ohm and T. Freckmann, in Proceedings of IEEE/LEOS Workshop on Advanced Modulation ThB2 (2004).
  10. R. Griffin,"Differential encoder for an optical DQPSK modulator" US Patent 7327961 (April 7, 2005).
  11. C. Rasmussen, T. Fjelde, J. Bennike, L. Fenghai, S. Dey, B. Mikkelsen, P. Mamyshev, P. Serbe, P. van der Wagt, Y. Akasaka, D. Harris, D. Gapontsev, V. Ivshin, and P. Reeves-Hall, J. Lightwave Technol. 22, 203 (2004).

Cited By

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited