OSA's Digital Library

Optics Express

Optics Express

  • Editor: C. Martijn de Sterke
  • Vol. 19, Iss. 24 — Nov. 21, 2011
  • pp: 23689–23697

Effects of two-photon absorption on terahertz radiation generated by femtosecond-laser excited photoconductive antennas

Chao-Kuei Lee, Chan-Shan Yang, Sung-Hui Lin, Shiuan-Hua Huang, Osamu Wada, and Ci-Ling Pan  »View Author Affiliations

Optics Express, Vol. 19, Issue 24, pp. 23689-23697 (2011)

View Full Text Article

Enhanced HTML    Acrobat PDF (1246 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools



Terahertz (THz) radiation can be generated more efficiently from a low-temperature-grown GaAs (LT-GaAs) photoconductive (PC) antenna by considering the two-photon absorption (TPA) induced photo-carrier in the photoconductor. A rate-equation-based approach using the Drude-Lorentz model taking into account the band-diagram of LT-GaAs is used for the theoretical analysis. The use of transform-limited pulses at the PC antenna is critical experimentally. Previously unnoticed THz pulse features and anomalously increasing THz radiation power rather than saturation were observed. These are in good agreement with the theoretical predictions. The interplay of intensity dependence and dynamics of generation of photoexcited carriers by single-photon absorption and TPA for THz emission is discussed.

© 2011 OSA

OCIS Codes
(160.5140) Materials : Photoconductive materials
(320.0320) Ultrafast optics : Ultrafast optics
(300.6495) Spectroscopy : Spectroscopy, teraherz

ToC Category:
Ultrafast Optics

Original Manuscript: September 6, 2011
Revised Manuscript: October 6, 2011
Manuscript Accepted: October 6, 2011
Published: November 7, 2011

Chao-Kuei Lee, Chan-Shan Yang, Sung-Hui Lin, Shiuan-Hua Huang, Osamu Wada, and Ci-Ling Pan, "Effects of two-photon absorption on terahertz radiation generated by femtosecond-laser excited photoconductive antennas," Opt. Express 19, 23689-23697 (2011)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset  


  1. D. H. Auston, K. P. Cheung, and P. R. Smith, “Picosecond photoconducting Hertzian dipoles,” Appl. Phys. Lett. 45(3), 284–286 (1984). [CrossRef]
  2. Y.-S. Lee, Principles of Terahertz Science and Technology (Springer, New York, 2009).
  3. M. Tani, M. Herrmann, and K. Sakai, “Generation and detection of terahertz pulsed radiation with photoconductive antennas and its application to imaging,” Meas. Sci. Technol. 13(11), 1739–1745 (2002). [CrossRef]
  4. J. T. Darrow, X.-C. Zhang, D. H. Auston, and J. D. Morse, “Saturation properties of large-aperture photoconducting antennas,” IEEE J. Quantum Electron. 28(6), 1607–1616 (1992). [CrossRef]
  5. P. K. Benicewicz and A. J. Taylor, “Scaling of terahertz radiation from large-aperture biased InP photoconductors,” Opt. Lett. 18(16), 1332–1334 (1993). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  6. T. Loffler, Dissertation (JWG University of Frankfurt, Germany, 2003).
  7. M. Tani, S. Matsuura, K. Sakai, and S.-I. Nakashima, “Emission characteristics of photoconductive antennas based on low-temperature-grown GaAs and semi-insulating GaAs,” Appl. Opt. 36(30), 7853–7859 (1997). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  8. R.-H. Chou, T.-A. Liu, and C.-L. Pan, “Analysis of terahertz pulses from large-aperture biased semi-insulating and arsenic-ion-implanted GaAs antennas,” J. Appl. Phys. 104(5), 053121 (2008). [CrossRef]
  9. F. Kadlec, H. Nemec, and P. Kuzel, “Optical two-photon absorption in GaAs measured by optical-pump terahertz-probe spectroscopy,” Phys. Rev. B 70(12), 125205 (2004). [CrossRef]
  10. S. D. Benjamin, H. S. Loka, A. Othonos, and P. W. E. Smith, “Ultrafast dynamics of nonlinear absorption in low-temperature-grown GaAs,” Appl. Phys. Lett. 68(18), 2544–2546 (1996). [CrossRef]
  11. H. S. Loka, S. D. Benjamin, and P. W. E. Smith, “Optical characterization of low-temperature-grown GaAs for ultrafast all-optical switching devices,” IEEE J. Quantum Electron. 34(8), 1426–1437 (1998). [CrossRef]
  12. H. S. Loka, S. D. Benjamin, and P. W. E. Smith, “Refractive index and absorption changes in low-temperature-grown GaAs,” Opt. Commun. 155(1-3), 206–212 (1998). [CrossRef]
  13. P. U. Jepsen, R. H. Jacobsen, and S. R. Keiding, “Generation and detection of terahertz pulses from biased semiconductor antennas,” J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 13(11), 2424–2436 (1996). [CrossRef]
  14. Z. Piao, M. Tani, and K. Sakai, “Carrier dynamics and terahertz radiation in photoconductive antennas,” Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. 39(Part 1, No. 1), 96–100 (2000). [CrossRef]
  15. L. Duvillaret, F. Garet, J.-F. Roux, and J.-L. Coutaz, “Analytical modeling and optimization of terahertz time-domain spectroscopy experiments, using photoswitches as antennas,” IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 7(4), 615–623 (2001). [CrossRef]
  16. R.-P. Pan, C.-F. Hsieh, C.-L. Pan, and C.-Y. Chen, “Temperature-dependent optical constants and birefringence of nematic liquid crystal 5CB in the terahertz frequency range,” J. Appl. Phys. 103(9), 093523 (2008). [CrossRef]
  17. M. C. Chen, J. Y. Huang, Q. Yang, C. L. Pan, and J.-I. Chyi, “Freezing phase scheme for fast adaptive control and its application to characterization of femtosecond coherent optical pulses reflected from semiconductor saturable absorber mirrors,” J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 22(5), 1134–1142 (2005). [CrossRef]
  18. S.-G. Park, M. R. Melloch, and A. M. Weiner, “Analysis of terahertz waveforms measured by photoconductive and electrooptic sampling,” IEEE J. Quantum Electron. 35(5), 810–819 (1999). [CrossRef]
  19. E. Castro-Camus, L. Fu, J. Lloyd-Hughes, H. H. Tan, C. Jagadish, and M. B. Johnston, “Photoconductive response correction for detectors of terahertz radiation,” J. Appl. Phys. 104(5), 053113 (2008). [CrossRef]
  20. X. Q. Zhou, H. M. van Driel, W. W. Rühle, and K. Ploog, “Direct observation of a reduced cooling rate of hot carriers in the presence of nonequilibrium LO phonons in GaAs:As,” Phys. Rev. B Condens. Matter 46(24), 16148–16151 (1992). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  21. P. C. Upadhya, W. Fan, A. Burnett, J. Cunningham, A. G. Davies, E. H. Linfield, J. Lloyd-Hughes, E. Castro-Camus, M. B. Johnston, and H. Beere, “Excitation-density-dependent generation of broadband terahertz radiation in an asymmetrically excited photoconductive antenna,” Opt. Lett. 32(16), 2297–2299 (2007). [CrossRef] [PubMed]

Cited By

Alert me when this paper is cited

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.


Fig. 1 Fig. 2 Fig. 3
Fig. 4 Fig. 5

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited