OSA's Digital Library

Optics Express

Optics Express

  • Editor: C. Martijn de Sterke
  • Vol. 20, Iss. 27 — Dec. 17, 2012
  • pp: 28664–28671

A new class of electrically tunable metamaterial terahertz modulators

Rusen Yan, Berardi Sensale-Rodriguez, Lei Liu, Debdeep Jena, and Huili Grace Xing  »View Author Affiliations

Optics Express, Vol. 20, Issue 27, pp. 28664-28671 (2012)

View Full Text Article

Enhanced HTML    Acrobat PDF (2231 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools



Switchable metamaterials offer unique solutions for efficiently manipulating electromagnetic waves, particularly for terahertz waves, which has been difficult since naturally occurring materials rarely respond to terahertz frequencies controllably. However, few terahertz modulators demonstrated to date exhibit simultaneously low attenuation and high modulation depth. In this letter we propose a new class of electrically-tunable terahertz metamaterial modulators employing metallic frequency-selective-surfaces (FSS) in conjunction with capacitively-tunable layers of electrons, promising near 100% modulation depth and < 15% attenuation. The fundamental departure in our design from the prior art is tuning enabled by self-gated electron layers that is independent from the metallic FSS. Our proposal is applicable to all possible electrically tunable elements including graphene, Si, MoS2, oxides etc, thus opening up myriad opportunities for realizing high performance switchable metamaterials over an ultra-wide terahertz frequency range.

© 2012 OSA

OCIS Codes
(040.2235) Detectors : Far infrared or terahertz
(160.3918) Materials : Metamaterials
(250.4110) Optoelectronics : Modulators

ToC Category:

Original Manuscript: September 14, 2012
Revised Manuscript: November 18, 2012
Manuscript Accepted: November 26, 2012
Published: December 10, 2012

Rusen Yan, Berardi Sensale-Rodriguez, Lei Liu, Debdeep Jena, and Huili Grace Xing, "A new class of electrically tunable metamaterial terahertz modulators," Opt. Express 20, 28664-28671 (2012)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset  


  1. A. D. Boardman, V. V. Grimalsky, Y. S. Kivshar, S. V. Koshevaya, M. Lapine, N. M. Litchinitser, V. N. Malnev, M. Noginov, Y. G. Rapoport, and V. M. Shalaev, “Active and tunable metamaterials,” Laser Photon. Rev.5(2), 287–307 (2011). [CrossRef]
  2. M. Tonouchi, “Cutting-edge terahertz technology,” Nat. Photonics1(2), 97–105 (2007). [CrossRef]
  3. H. T. Chen, W. J. Padilla, J. M. O. Zide, A. C. Gossard, A. J. Taylor, and R. D. Averitt, “Active terahertz metamaterial devices,” Nature444(7119), 597–600 (2006). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  4. T. Kleine-Ostmann, P. Dawson, K. Pierz, G. Hein, and M. Koch, “Room-temperature operation of an electrically driven terahertz modulator,” Appl. Phys. Lett.84(18), 3555–3557 (2004). [CrossRef]
  5. T. Kleine-Ostmann, K. Pierz, G. Hein, P. Dawson, M. Marso, and M. Koch, “Spatially resolved measurements of depletion properties of large gate two-dimensional electron gas semiconductor terahertz modulators,” J. Appl. Phys.105(9), 093707 (2009). [CrossRef]
  6. B. Sensale-Rodriguez, T. Fang, R. Yan, M. M. Kelly, D. Jena, L. Liu, and H. G. Xing, “Unique prospects for graphene-based terahertz modulators,” Appl. Phys. Lett.99, 113104 (2011). [CrossRef]
  7. B. Sensale-Rodriguez, R. Yan, M. M. Kelly, T. Fang, K. Tahy, W. S. Hwang, D. Jena, L. Liu, and H. G. Xing, “Broadband graphene terahertz modulators enabled by intraband transitions,” Nat Commun3, 780 (2012). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  8. B. Sensale-Rodriguez, R. Yan, S. Rafique, M. Zhu, W. Li, X. Liang, D. Gundlach, V. Protasenko, M. M. Kelly, D. Jena, L. Liu, and H. G. Xing, “Extraordinary control of terahertz beam reflectance in graphene electro-absorption modulators,” Nano Lett.12(9), 4518–4522 (2012). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  9. F. Xia, T. Mueller, R. Golizadeh-Mojarad, M. Freitag, Y. M. Lin, J. Tsang, V. Perebeinos, and P. Avouris, “Photocurrent imaging and efficient photon detection in a graphene transistor,” Nano Lett.9(3), 1039–1044 (2009). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  10. Z. Sun, T. Hasan, F. Torrisi, D. Popa, G. Privitera, F. Wang, F. Bonaccorso, D. M. Basko, and A. C. Ferrari, “Graphene mode-locked ultrafast laser,” ACS Nano4(2), 803–810 (2010). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  11. R. Yan, Q. Zhang, W. Li, I. Calizo, T. Shen, C. A. Richter, A. R. Hight-Walker, X. Liang, A. Seabaugh, D. Jena, H. G. Xing, D. J. Gundlach, and N. V. Nguyen, “Determination of graphene work function and graphene-insulator-semiconductor band alignment by internal photoemission spectroscopy,” Appl. Phys. Lett.101(2), 022105 (2012). [CrossRef]
  12. K. F. Mak, M. Y. Sfeir, Y. Wu, C. H. Lui, J. A. Misewich, and T. F. Heinz, “Measurement of the Optical Conductivity of Graphene,” Phys. Rev. Lett.101(19), 196405 (2008). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  13. B. Sensale-Rodriguez, R. Yan, S. Rafique, M. Zhu, V. Protasenko, D. Jena, L. Liu, and H. G. Xing, ‘Exceptional Tunability of THz Reflectance in Graphene Structures”, IRMMWTHz 2012, Wollongong, Australia, 2012.
  14. H. T. Chen, W. J. Padilla, M. J. Cich, A. K. Azad, R. D. Averitt, and A. J. Taylor, “A metamaterial solid-state terahertz phase modulator,” Nat. Photonics3(3), 148–151 (2009). [CrossRef]
  15. P. Tassin, T. Koschny, M. Kafesaki, and C. M. Soukoulis, “A comparison of graphene, superconductors and metals as conductors for metamaterials and plasmonics,” Nat. Photonics6(4), 259–264 (2012). [CrossRef]
  16. B. Radisavljevic, A. Radenovic, J. Brivio, V. Giacometti, and A. Kis, “Single-layer MoS2 transistors,” Nat. Nanotechnol.6(3), 147–150 (2011). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  17. K. F. Mak, C. Lee, J. Hone, J. Shan, and T. F. Heinz, “Atomically thin MoS₂: a new direct-gap semiconductor,” Phys. Rev. Lett.105(13), 136805 (2010). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  18. W. S. Hwang, M. Remskar, R. Yan, V. Protasenko, K. Tahy, S. D. Chae, P. Zhao, A. Konar, H. G. Xing, A. Seabaugh, and D. Jena, “Transistors with chemically synthesized layered semiconductor WS2 exhibiting 105 room temperature modulation and ambipolar behavior,” Appl. Phys. Lett.101, 013107 (2012). [CrossRef]
  19. S. Kim, A. Konar, W. S. Hwang, J. H. Lee, J. Lee, J. Yang, C. Jung, H. Kim, J. B. Yoo, J. Y. Choi, Y. W. Jin, S. Y. Lee, D. Jena, W. Choi, and K. Kim, “High-mobility and low-power thin-film transistors based on multilayer MoS2 crystals,” Nat Commun3, 1011 (2012). [CrossRef] [PubMed]
  20. S. J. Allen, D. C. Tsui, and R. A. Logan, “Observation of the two-dimensional plasmon in silicon inversion layers,” Phys. Rev. Lett.38(17), 980–983 (1977). [CrossRef]
  21. Y. W. Tan, Y. Zhang, K. Bolotin, Y. Zhao, S. Adam, E. H. Hwang, S. Das Sarma, H. L. Stormer, and P. Kim, “Measurement of scattering rate and minimum conductivity in graphene,” Phys. Rev. Lett.99(24), 246803 (2007). [CrossRef] [PubMed]

Cited By

Alert me when this paper is cited

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.


Fig. 1 Fig. 2 Fig. 3
Fig. 4

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited