OSA's Digital Library

Optics Letters

Optics Letters


  • Vol. 29, Iss. 7 — Apr. 1, 2004
  • pp: 748–750

Direct femtosecond laser writing of waveguides in As2S3 thin films

Arnaud Zoubir, Martin Richardson, Clara Rivero, Alfons Schulte, Cedric Lopez, Kathleen Richardson, Nicolas Hô, and Réal Vallée  »View Author Affiliations

Optics Letters, Vol. 29, Issue 7, pp. 748-750 (2004)

View Full Text Article

Acrobat PDF (416 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools



Single-channel waveguides and Y couplers were fabricated in chalcogenide thin films by use of femtosecond laser pulses from a 25-MHz repetition rate Ti:sapphire laser. Refractive-index differentials (Δn>10-2) were measured through interferometric microscopy and are higher than the typical values reported for oxide glasses. The dependence of the index differential on the peak intensity reveals the nonlinear nature of the photosensitivity in arsenic trisulfide below its bandgap energy, and the refractive-index change is correlated to the photoinduced structural changes inferred by Raman spectroscopy data. A free-electron model to predict the parametric dependence of Δn is proposed.

© 2004 Optical Society of America

OCIS Codes
(220.4000) Optical design and fabrication : Microstructure fabrication
(230.7380) Optical devices : Waveguides, channeled
(320.7130) Ultrafast optics : Ultrafast processes in condensed matter, including semiconductors
(320.7160) Ultrafast optics : Ultrafast technology

Arnaud Zoubir, Martin Richardson, Clara Rivero, Alfons Schulte, Cedric Lopez, Kathleen Richardson, Nicolas Hô, and Réal Vallée, "Direct femtosecond laser writing of waveguides in As2S3 thin films," Opt. Lett. 29, 748-750 (2004)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset


  1. K. Hirao and K. Miura, J. Non-Cryst. Solids 239, 91 (1998).
  2. J. W. Chan, T. Huser, S. Risbud, and D. M. Krol, Opt. Lett. 26, 1726 (2001).
  3. C. B. Schaffer, A. Brodeur, J. F. Garca, and E. Mazur, Opt. Lett. 26, 93 (2001).
  4. A. Zoubir, M. Richardson, C. Rivero, C. Lopez, N. Ho, R. Vallee, and K. A. Richardson, in Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO), Vol. 73 of OSA Trends in Optics and Photonics Series (Optical Society of America, Washington, D.C., 2002), pp. 125–126.
  5. K. Minoshima, A. M. Kowalevicz, I. Hartl, E. P. Ippen, and J. G. Fujimoto, Opt. Lett. 26, 1516 (2001).
  6. J. M. Harbold, F. O. Ilday, F. W. Wise, J. S. Sanghera, V. Q. Nguyen, L. B. Shaw, and I. D. Aggarwal, Opt. Lett. 27, 119 (2002).
  7. C. Meneghini and A. Villeneuve, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 15, 2946 (1998).
  8. J.-F. Viens, C. Meneghini, A. Villeneuve, T. Galstian, E. J. Knystautas, M. A. Duguay, K. A. Richardson, and T. Cardinal, J. Lightwave Technol. 17, 1184 (1999).
  9. B. C. Stuart, M. D. Feit, S. Herman, A. M. Rubenchik, B. W. Shore, and M. D. Perry, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 13, 459 (1996).
  10. A. Kaiser, B. Rehfeld, M. Vicanek, and G. Simon, Phys. Rev. B 61, 11, 437 (2000).
  11. K. Tanaka, Appl. Phys. Lett. 80, 177 (2002).
  12. A. Schulte, C. Rivero, K. Richardson, K. Turcotte, V. Hamel, A. Villeneuve, T. Galstian, and R. Vallee, Opt. Commun. 198, 125 (2001).
  13. V. I. Mikla, J. Phys. Condens. Matter 8, 429 (1996).
  14. O. M. Efimov, L. B. Glebov, K. A. Richardson, E. Van Stryland, T. Cardinal, S. H. Park, M. Couzi, and J. L. Bruneel, J. Opt. Mater. 17, 379 (2001).

Cited By

Alert me when this paper is cited

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited