OSA's Digital Library

Optics Letters

Optics Letters


  • Vol. 30, Iss. 13 — Jul. 1, 2005
  • pp: 1623–1625

Self-starting ultralow-jitter pulse source based on coupled optoelectronic oscillators with an intracavity fiber parametric amplifier

David Dahan, Evgeny Shumakher, and Gadi Eisenstein  »View Author Affiliations

Optics Letters, Vol. 30, Issue 13, pp. 1623-1625 (2005)

View Full Text Article

Acrobat PDF (482 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools



A self-starting optical pulse source based on mutually coupled optoelectronic oscillators is described. The system employs a phototransistor-based microwave oscillator that is coupled to a fiber cavity optoelectronic oscillator with an intracavity fiber parametric amplifier. It self-starts and exhibits 3 ps pulses at a rate of 10 GHz with extremely low jitter of 30, 29, and 40 fs (for integration bandwidths of 100 Hz-15 kHz, 500 Hz-1 MHz, and 100 Hz-1 MHz, respectively).

© 2005 Optical Society of America

OCIS Codes
(060.2320) Fiber optics and optical communications : Fiber optics amplifiers and oscillators
(060.4370) Fiber optics and optical communications : Nonlinear optics, fibers

David Dahan, Evgeny Shumakher, and Gadi Eisenstein, "Self-starting ultralow-jitter pulse source based on coupled optoelectronic oscillators with an intracavity fiber parametric amplifier," Opt. Lett. 30, 1623-1625 (2005)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset


  1. T. R. Clark, T. F. Carruthers, P. J. Matthews, and I. N. Dubling III, Electron. Lett. 35, 720 (1999). [CrossRef]
  2. X. S. Yao, L. Davis, and L. Maleki, J. Lightwave Technol. 18, 73 (2000).
  3. J. Lasri, A. Bilenca, D. Dahan, V. Sidorov, G. Eisenstein, and D. Ritter, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 14, 1004 (2002).
  4. J. Lasri, P. Devgan, R. Tang, and P. Kumar, Opt. Express 11, 1430 (2004).
  5. E. Shumakher and G. Eisenstein, IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory Tech. 52, 1523 (2004).
  6. J. Hansryd, P. A. Andrekson, M. Westlund, L. Lie, and P. O. Hedekvist, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 8, 506 (2002). [CrossRef]
  7. T. Toroundis, H. Sunnerud, P. O. Hedekvist, and P. A. Anderkson, IEEE Photonics Technol. Lett. 15, 1159 (2003).
  8. D. von der Linde, Appl. Phys. B 39, 201 (1986). [CrossRef]
  9. M. C. Ho, K. Uesaka, M. Marhic, Y. Akasaka, and L. G. Kazosky, J. Lightwave Technol. 19, 977 (2001). [CrossRef]

Cited By

Alert me when this paper is cited

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited