OSA's Digital Library

Journal of the Optical Society of America B

Journal of the Optical Society of America B



Journal of the Optical Society of America B: Optical Physics (JOSA B)

Editor-in-Chief: Grover Swartzlander, Rochester Institute of Technology
ISSN: 0740-3224 (print)
ISSN: 1520-8540 (online)
12 issues per year

The Journal of the Optical Society of America B (JOSA B) is a general optics research journal that complements JOSA A. It emphasizes scientific research on the fundamentals of the interaction of light with matter such as quantum optics, nonlinear optics, and laser physics. Topics include:

  • Atom optics and cold atoms
  • Integrated and fiber optics
  • Metamaterials
  • Nanophotonics
  • Photonic crystals
  • Photorefractive optics and holography
  • Physics of optical materials
  • Spectroscopy
  • THz optics
  • Ultrafast phenomena

Is my paper appropriate for the Journal of the Optical Society of America B? Read about all OSA journals here.

Editorial Board

Grover Swartzlander, Rochester Institute of Technology, US

Deputy Editor
David Andrews, University of East Anglia, UK

Topical Editors and Content Areas
Jaewook Ahn, KAIST (Ultrafast Laser Physics, THz Optics)
Richard Averitt, Boston University (THz Phenomena)
Almut Beige, University of Leeds (Quantum Optics)
Maria Bondani, National Research Council—CNR (Experimental Quantum Optics)
Kurt Busch, Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin (Theoretical Nanophotonics)
Chik-Ho (Wallace) Choy, University of Hong Kong (Experimental Nano-Optics)
Anton S. Desyatnikov, The Australian National University (Structured Light, Metamaterials, and Plasmonics)
Shengwang Du, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Quantum Optics and Quantum Key Distributions)
Robert Kaindl, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Ultrafast Phenomena and Semiconductor Optics)
Alexandre Kudlinski, University of Lille (Fiber Optics and Photonic Bandgap Fibers)
Kazuo Kuroda, Utsunomiya University (Nonlinear Optics and Ultrafast Laser Physics)
Larry D. Merkle, US Army Research Laboratory (Lasers and Laser Materials)
Valdas Pasiskevicius, Royal Institute of Technology (Laser Physics)
Igor Smolyaninov, BAE Systems North America (Surface Optical Phenomena and Plasmonics)
Richard Sutherland, Mount Vernon Nazarene University (Nonlinear Optics, Electro-optics, Liquid Crystals)
Yasuo Tomita, The University of Electro-Communications (Holography and Diffractive Optics)
Sergei Turitsyn, Aston University (Nonlinear Effects in Optical Fibers)
William Wadsworth, University of Bath (Fiber Optics; Photonic Crystal Fibers)
Shining Zhu, Nanjing University (Nonlinear Optics and Metamaterials)


Peer Review E-mail Phone
Nicole Williams-Jones, Peer Review Coordinator nwjones@osa.org 202-416-1969
General peer review questions jbmss@osa.org
JOSA B Fax Number 202-416-6129
Feature proposals dmcdonold@osa.org
Editorial Production E-mail Phone
Alexine Hart, Managing Editor ahart@osa.org 202-416-1923
Reprints https://caesar.sheridan.com/osa/eoc
Page charges billing@osa.org
Copyright permission requests copyright@osa.org
Online Journal Technical Support E-mail
General Information
Elizabeth Nolan, Chief Publishing Officer
Kelly Cohen, Sr. Publisher
Rob Bernstein, Associate Publisher
M. Scott Dineen, Senior Director, Publishing Production & Technology
Jennifer Mayfield, Deputy Senior Director, Electronic Publications
Christopher Videll, Director, Production and Technology
Carmelita Washington, Peer Review Manager
Keith Allen, Deputy Sr. Director of Publishing Sales and Marketing

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings
Optical Society of America

2010 Massachusetts Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036-1023
Tel: 202-223-8130
Fax: 202-223-1096