OSA's Digital Library

Optics Letters

Optics Letters


  • Editor: Alan E. Willner
  • Vol. 38, Iss. 3 — Feb. 1, 2013
  • pp: 341–343

Graphene mode-locked femtosecond Cr:ZnSe laser at 2500 nm

M. N. Cizmeciyan, J. W. Kim, S. Bae, B. H. Hong, F. Rotermund, and A. Sennaroglu  »View Author Affiliations

Optics Letters, Vol. 38, Issue 3, pp. 341-343 (2013)

View Full Text Article

Enhanced HTML    Acrobat PDF (625 KB)

Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Browse by Journal and Year


Lookup Conference Papers

Close Browse Journals / Lookup Meetings

Article Tools



We report, for the first time to our knowledge, femtosecond pulse generation from a graphene mode-locked Cr:ZnSe laser at 2500 nm. To minimize the insertion losses at the lasing wavelength, high-quality monolayer graphene transferred on a CaF2 substrate was used in the experiments. Once mode-locking was initiated, the laser generated a stable train of 226 fs pulses with a time–bandwidth product of 0.39. The mode-locked laser operated at a pulse repetition rate of 77 MHz and produced 80 mW output power with an incident pump power of 1.6 W. To our knowledge, this is the longest laser wavelength at which graphene-based passive mode-locking has been demonstrated to date.

© 2013 Optical Society of America

OCIS Codes
(140.4050) Lasers and laser optics : Mode-locked lasers
(140.5680) Lasers and laser optics : Rare earth and transition metal solid-state lasers
(160.4330) Materials : Nonlinear optical materials
(320.7090) Ultrafast optics : Ultrafast lasers

ToC Category:
Ultrafast Optics

Original Manuscript: November 19, 2012
Manuscript Accepted: December 11, 2012
Published: January 28, 2013

M. N. Cizmeciyan, J. W. Kim, S. Bae, B. H. Hong, F. Rotermund, and A. Sennaroglu, "Graphene mode-locked femtosecond Cr:ZnSe laser at 2500 nm," Opt. Lett. 38, 341-343 (2013)

Sort:  Author  |  Year  |  Journal  |  Reset  


  1. U. Keller, K. J. Weingarten, F. X. Kartner, D. Kopf, B. Braun, I. D. Jung, R. Fluck, C. Hönninger, N. Matuschek, and J. Aus der Au, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 2, 435 (1996). [CrossRef]
  2. T. Hasan, Z. Sun, F. Wang, F. Bonaccorso, P. H. Tan, A. G. Rozhin, and A. C. Ferrari, Adv. Mater. 21, 3874 (2009). [CrossRef]
  3. S. Y. Set, H. Yaguchi, Y. Tanaka, and M. Jablonski, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 10, 137 (2004). [CrossRef]
  4. I. H. Baek, S. Y. Choi, H. W. Lee, W. B. Cho, V. Petrov, A. Agnesi, V. Pasiskevicius, D. I. Yeom, K. Kim, and F. Rotermund, Opt. Express 19, 7833 (2011). [CrossRef]
  5. A. Schmidt, P. Koopmann, G. Huber, P. Fuhrberg, S. Y. Choi, D.-I. Yeom, F. Rotermund, V. Petrov, and U. Griebner, Opt. Express 20, 5313 (2012). [CrossRef]
  6. B. V. Cunning, C. L. Brown, and D. Kielpinski, Appl. Phys. Lett. 99, 261109 (2011). [CrossRef]
  7. I. H. Baek, H. W. Lee, S. Bae, B. H. Hong, Y. H. Ahn, D.-I. Yeom, and F. Rotermund, Appl. Phys. Express 5, 032701 (2012). [CrossRef]
  8. W. B. Cho, J. W. Kim, H. W. Lee, S. Bae, B. H. Hong, S. Y. Choi, I. H. Baek, K. Kim, D.-I. Yeom, and F. Rotermund, Opt. Lett. 36, 4089 (2011). [CrossRef]
  9. J. Ma, G. Q. Xie, P. Lv, W. L. Gao, P. Yuan, L. J. Qian, H. H. Yu, H. J. Zhang, J. Y. Wang, and D. Y. Tang, Opt. Lett. 37, 2085 (2012). [CrossRef]
  10. F. Bonaccorso, Z. Sun, T. Hasan, and A. C. Ferrari, Nat. Photonics 4, 611 (2010). [CrossRef]
  11. Z. Sun, T. Hasan, and A. C. Ferrari, Physica E 44, 1082 (2012). [CrossRef]
  12. A. Schliesser, N. Picque, and T. W. Hansch, Nat. Photonics 6, 440 (2012). [CrossRef]
  13. H. Xiong, H. Xu, Y. Fu, J. Yao, B. Zeng, W. Chu, Y. Cheng, Z. Xu, E. J. Takahashi, K. Midorikawa, X. Liu, and J. Chen, Opt. Lett. 34, 1747 (2009). [CrossRef]
  14. U. Demirbas and A. Sennaroglu, Opt. Lett. 31, 2293 (2006). [CrossRef]
  15. E. Sorokin, I. T. Sorokina, M. S. Mirov, V. V. Fedorov, I. S. Moskalev, and S. B. Mirov, in Advanced Solid-State Photonics (Optical Society of America, 2010), paper AMC2.
  16. T. J. Carrig, G. J. Wagner, A. Sennaroglu, J. Y. Jeong, and C. R. Pollock, Opt. Lett. 25, 168 (2000). [CrossRef]
  17. M. N. Cizmeciyan, H. Cankaya, A. Kurt, and A. Sennaroglu, Opt. Lett. 34, 3056 (2009). [CrossRef]
  18. I. T. Sorokina, E. Sorokin, and T. Carrig, in Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) (Optical Society of America, 2006), paper CMQ2.
  19. A. C. Ferrari, J. C. Meyer, V. Scardaci, C. Casiraghi, M. Lazzeri, F. Mauri, S. Piscanec, D. Jiang, K. S. Novoselov, S. Roth, and A. K. Geim, Phys. Rev. Lett. 97, 187401(2006). [CrossRef]
  20. A. Reina, X. Jia, J. Ho, D. Nezich, H. Son, V. Bulovic, M. S. Dresselhaus, and J. Kong, Nano Lett. 9, 30 (2008). [CrossRef]

Cited By

Alert me when this paper is cited

OSA is able to provide readers links to articles that cite this paper by participating in CrossRef's Cited-By Linking service. CrossRef includes content from more than 3000 publishers and societies. In addition to listing OSA journal articles that cite this paper, citing articles from other participating publishers will also be listed.

« Previous Article  |  Next Article »

OSA is a member of CrossRef.

CrossCheck Deposited